Stephen King top Cat in 2002
October 5 2002

As expected by most Geelong fans, Steven King won the 2002 his second best and fairest in three seasons last night, in front of a sell out crowd at the newly named Mil Hanna Dome, Docklands. King played in every game this season, narrowly missing All-Australian selection.

Australian International Rules representatives Cameron Ling (2nd) and Matthew Scarlett (4th) both polled well, with veteran and 1999 winner Peter Riccardi in between the two, edging out Scarlett by just one vote for 3rd. Paul Chapman, who finished 8th, was named the most improved player, while James Kelly was named best first year player.

Other awards were Most Determined & Dedicated Player, Joel Corey; Best Team & Most Constructive Player, Corey Enright; Best Clubman, Tom Harley; Coach's Award, Matthew Scarlett. The awards were dominated by younger players, with Riccardi the only player classified as a veteran to finish in the top 5 in the best & fairest.

Most Determined & Most Dedicated Player – Joel Corey
Best Team & Most Constructive Player – Corey Enright
Most Improved Player – Paul Chapman
Best First Year Player – James Kelly
Leading Goal Kicker – Kent Kingsley (57 goals)
Best Clubman – Tom Harley
Most Votes in the Brownlow Medal – Cameron Ling (12 votes)
Coach’s Award – Matthew Scarlett



Visit Geelong's eBay Auction

Carji Greeves Medal Top Ten

1 Steven King 527
2 Cameron Ling 472
3 Peter Riccardi 408
4 Matthew Scarlett 407
5 Tom Harley 373
6 Kent Kingsley 343
7 David Clarke 266
8 Paul Chapman 255
9 Joel Corey 233
10 Darren Milburn 215